lion park

IMG_3559

A few weeks ago I found out that I was going to Johannesburg for a business trip and was so excited because I had never been. We landed at Lanseria Airport and on our way to our Hotel, we passed a Lion park and I said “I don’t care what happens on this trip as long as I can go see the Lions” so on Saturday morning my colleague Shaun and myself headed off to the lion park.

IMG_3498 IMG_3503 IMG_3800IMG_3509 IMG_3522 IMG_3511IMG_3517 IMG_3519

I was so excited that in the lion park was different types of Animals. The Giraffe was so friendly but I was so scared. His tongue would wrap around your hand every time he wanted to get the food out your hand. It was so long and was purple in colour. The reason for the colour is because their tongues burn from the Sun when they have to eat off the branches. I thought it was pretty cool and enjoyed being silly. At an average height of around 5 m, the giraffe is the tallest land animal in the world. When giraffes walk, they move both legs on one side of their body and then both legs on the other side; this is unique to giraffes. I touched the Giraffe and it made the weirdest sound and I just walked away. I think that’s enough of the Giraffe for me.

IMG_3552 IMG_3551 IMG_3550IMG_3560 IMG_3562 IMG_3500

My favourite part of my trip to the lion park was the moment I got to enter the cubs little cave. They were all sleeping but looked like the cutest little cats. I was so scared to touch them but wanted to pick them up and just play all day. The game ranger had told us what to do when touching the cubs, “hard strokes with the hair and never touch the head of feet”. I was so excited that I became a little fearful. What would happen to me?? I then touched the lions after like 20 seconds of being a real scaredy cat. The fur was so soft, I could touch it all day. They had some amazing patterns amongst the hair which I thought was amazing because I had never seen it in my life. we asked the game ranger to show us the lions claws and I promise you, in the moment the cub was about the wake up and I didn’t know what to do with myself. He blew on the cubs face and he just went back to sleep. I kept thinking what was in his mouth or how do they just know it’s safe??? Lions usually sleep 20 hours a day, and people as me why I like to sleep?? I knew I was meant to be a lion ha ha

IMG_3799 IMG_3798

After we went to see the cubs we had gone on a safari trip to see the bigger lions and it was feeding time soon. We drove through the park and seeing all the animals but my biggest challenge was the adult lions, especially when the driver came to feed the lions. Unlike other cats, lions are very social animals. A pride consists of up to three males, a dozen related females, and their young. The size of the pride is determined by the availability of food and water. If resources are scarce, the pride becomes smaller. Pride members keep track of one another by roaring. Both males and females have a very powerful roar that can be heard up to 8 km away. Usually a couple of females give birth around the same time. The cubs are then raised together, sometimes nursing communally. I thought that was the funniest. Imagine you and your friend both have a baby and you just feed them from your breast crazy much. I found some of these facts interesting when our game ranger had said to us on our drive and just wanted to share what I had learnt with you guys.

IMG_3627 IMG_3629IMG_3638 IMG_3643

After a while of taking picture of the lions eating a fight came out of nowhere. One of the lions wanted to take a meal from the lioness and I promise you don’t even think of taking something from a lady. She roared and started to attach the lion, biting, scratching and pulling him down. It was definitely something I don’t want to find myself in. The game ranger had said it happens often with the male lions because in the wild the Lioness provide the meals and when they walk away so the lions take over.

IMG_3717 IMG_3757IMG_3561 IMG_3472

After an amazing time looking and learning about the lions we moved on to the Cheetahs. Cheetahs can run from 0 to 96 km/h in three seconds, the cheetah is the world’s fastest land mammal. Female cheetahs give birth to around three cubs at a time. I don’t think I would want that to happen to me every time I fall pregnant in the future, although I do want four kids. Young cubs grow a thick yellow-gray coat on their backs called a mantle. The mantle protects the cub from the sun and rain and helps camouflage it in the shadows.

IMG_3782 IMG_3794IMG_3796 IMG_3782

I would like to thank everyone one at The Lion Park in Honeydew for making my lifetime wish such a great experience and so memorable. I will be there again soon. If you ever find yourself close to Honeydew make a turn at the Lion Park you will not be disappointed.

IMG_3797

God bless xxxo

Leave a Reply

